Call us  Call Us: (01274) 201042

Email: Address: Carlisle Business Centre/ 60 Carlisle Road/ Bradford/ West Yorkshire/ BD8 8BD


The European Community currently consists of the following member states:

Austria Belgium Bulgaria
Croatia Cyprus Czech Republic
Denmark Estonia Finland
France Germany Greece
Hungary Ireland Italy
Latvia Lithuania Luxembourg
Malta The Netherlands Poland
Portugal Romania Slovakia
Slovenia Spain Sweden
The United Kingdom

Its purpose is to guarantee the free movement of goods, capital, services and people throughout the European Community.

The European Economic Area (EEA) consists of all the EU member states plus Iceland, Norway, Liechtenstein and Switzerland.

Certain individuals have a right to reside in the UK by virtue of their citizenship of another EEA country and their economic activities, or through their family relationship with such a person. The UK is bound to recognise and promote this right.

In UK law, EEA rights are laid out in the Immigration (EEA) Regulations 2006 (as amended).

There are broadly three categories of individual who benefit from Community law:

– “qualified persons”, usually the EEA national themselves
– their family members
– their extended/other family members, ie those in a durable relationship with the EEA national, those relatives who are dependent on them or were previously part of their households

The benefits of relying on the EC law route into the UK include the absence of any requirement for prior entry clearance, the absence of suitability, English language, maintenance and accommodation.

A non-EEA national may therefore be able to join or stay with their EEA national, if that EEA national is in the UK and exercising their Treaty rights.

Many Europeans in the UK form relationships with non-EEA nationals and Milana Immigration Ltd may be able to assist you in applying for a Family Permit (6 months validity) a Residence Card (5 years validity) or for a Permanent Residence Card.